Loading Events
This event has passed.

The Jewel Ornament of Liberation, also known as the Thargyen, was originally composed by Ven. Gampopa (1079-1153) and presents in one text all of Buddha’s 84,000 teachings. It is a kind step-by-step outline of the path to enlightenment, and a primary text in the Kagyu tradition. The 2018 book club commentary is a teaching by Khenchen Thrangu Rinpoche, given over four months specifically for a western audience. The language is simple and the concepts are clearly presented. Using this commentary and discussing how to put the teachings into practice in daily life, we will be well-prepared to continue our study once Khenpo Karten Rinpoche returns to teach his beautiful 80-verse summary of this seminal work. Details on the book club text and an outline of topics is below. Even if you cannot read the chapters ahead, the discussion of each topic will help us to better understand the path of Dharma. Join us on Thursday evenings as we discuss the Jewel Ornament of Liberation.

Book Club Book Details:

Jewel Ornament of Liberation, commentary by:  Khenchen Thrangu Rinpoche, ISBN:  1-877294-27-6
Originally published in 2003, updated 2014, Namo Buddha Publications and Zhyisil Chokyi Ghatsal Trust Publications.




Available on Amazon (2014 update, white cover) for roughly 30.00:








Available from Namse Bangdzo Bookstore (2003 version, gold cover) for roughly 40.00






Discussion Topics:

  • Chapter 1:  Buddha Nature
  • Chapter 2:  Precious Human Life
  • Chapter 3:  The Spiritual Friend
  • Chapter 4:  Instructions on Impermanence
  • Chapter 5:  The Suffering of Samsara
  • Chapter 6:  Karma and Its Results
  • Chapter 7:  Loving-kindness & Compassion
  • Chapter 8:  Refuge & Precepts
  • Chapter 9:  Cultivation of Bodhichitta
  • Chapter 10:  Training in Aspiring Bodhichitta
  • Chapter 11:  Training in Action Bodhichitta
  • Chapter 12:  The Perfection of Generosity
  • Chapter 13:  The Perfection of Moral Ethics
  • Chapter 14:  The Perfection of Patience
  • Chapter 15:  The Perfection of Diligence
  • Chapter 16:  The Perfection of Meditative Concentration
  • Chapter 17:  The Perfection of Wisdom-Awareness
  • Chapter 18:  The Aspects of the Five Paths
  • Chapter 19:  The Levels of the Path
  • Chapter 20:  Perfect Buddhahood
  • Chapter 21:  Activities of the Buddha

Leave A Comment